:::: MENU ::::

Song Of The Week

Ben Ottewell – Shoreline

Ben Ottewell came into contact with Ian Ball (vocals, guitar) while the two were studying law at Sheffield University. Ball was impressed by Ben’s big voice, and along with Tom Gray (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Paul Blackburn (bass), and Olly Peacock (drums, synths, computers), they formed the band Gomez. Ottewell’s deep, soulful voice has gained him some acclaim and has drawn some comparisons to Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and artist Tom Waits, and his lyrical style, and acoustical arrangements, especially in his solo work, have drawn comparisons to folk singer Nick Drake

In an interview with Guitar World, Ben revealed “When it came to writing for Rattlebag I started afresh and all the songs were written specifically with the album in mind over a 12 month period, perhaps making the album a little more cohesive. I’m a great believer in the power of the riff, not just in the bombastic Zeppelin sense but also the more cyclical blues or folk licks, and most of the songs are written with a riff as the foundation. Once these ideas were formed, some as just a verse, some almost full songs, I’d take them to Sam [his writing partner, Sam Genders of English folk band Tunng] and we’d finish them. The recording took 5 days in Los Angeles with producer Will Golden, the other key ingredient.

We got in some great players and Clay Blair who is a fantastic engineer. It’s the most fun I’ve had in a studio since those early Gomez records.” Ben turned to his fanbase to crowdfund the album via Indiegogo.


[DOWNLOAD NOW] (To download on PC- Right Click -> “Save As”, on a MAC CTRL -> “Save As”)

Artist Videos

Rebecca Pidgeon – Perfect Stranger

Music News

Mumford & Sons "Shake It Up" on New May 4 Album 'Wilder Mind'; Watch Video Teaser

Mumford & Sons, the British folk/rock band led by frontman Marcus Mumford, will released their third album Wilder Mind on May 4 via Glassnote Records. The new project was producer by James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, HAIM, Florence & The Machine) and includes twelve new songs written by the band in London, Brooklyn -- at Aaron Dessner's (The National) garage studios -- and Texas. A number of the new songs were written and demoed at Aaron Dessner's (The National) garage studios in Brooklyn. (See the album cover and watch a teaser snippet video below)...[READ MORE]

Local News

Authorities: 1 dead, 1 wounded in NJ shooting

MARLBORO, N.J. (AP) — Authorities are investigating a shooting which left one man dead and another man wounded in Marlboro. …read more

Man hurt in 2nd recent gas explosion at New Jersey shore

POINT PLEASANT BEACH, N.J. (AP) — A natural gas explosion has rocked a house at the New Jersey shore for the second time in less than a week. …read more

NJ Transit gets more federal funds for Sandy-related work

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) — New Jersey Transit has received another $147 million from the Federal Transit Administration for projects related to Superstorm Sandy. …read more

More Local News

Interview Archive

The Satisfactors (25 February 2015)

Bruce & Gar from The Satisfactors recently stopped by to have a live in-studio chat with Rich Robinson.

Wbjb-The_Satisfactors_25February2015 by 90_5thenight on Mixcloud

even more recent or check out the whole archive alphabetically

On-Air Blog

Fresh Tracks 24 February 2015